Advisory Board

We are led by an Advisory Board comprised of energy industry, including regional consumer-owned and investor-owned utilities and a federal power-marketing administration (the Bonneville Power Administration); organized labor; community and technical colleges, and universities; and workforce and economic development councils.


Our Advisory Board is a permanent standing board to provide advice and insight to the center from the perspective of industry, education, labor, and the community. The board helps the center achieve its mission by ensuring that programs and projects advance the needs of the energy sector within the region. The diversity of membership provides an invaluable resource to the center’s staff and program partners to easily access information and contacts throughout the industry. The board is organized under the Advisory Board Charter adopted in May 2024.

The strength of the advisory board was a key component in the elevation of the center from a state organization to a Department of Energy recognized Regional Center of Excellence.


Advisory Board Members


Alice Massara (Board Chair), Tacoma Power
Avista – Jeremy Gall
Bonneville Power Administration – P.J. LeCompte
Center for Advanced Transportation and Energy Solutions (CATES) – Steve Marshall
Centralia City Light – M.L. Norton
Chelan County PUD – Brian Odell
Economic Alliance of Lewis County – Richard DeBolt
Energy Northwest – Sarah Giomi
Fortescue – Rob Cowin
Lewis County PUD – Nicole Schwall and Travis Kinney
Lewis County Transit/Lewis County Renewable Energy Task Force – Joe Clark
Pacific NW Hydro Projects – Jay Pickett
Portland General Electric- David Fortney
Puget Sound Energy – Erik McCoy
Thurston County Chamber of Commerce and Worksource- Christina Chestnut
Wahkiakum County PUD – Dan Kay
Washington State Department of Commerce – Brian Young

Labor Partners

IBEW-77 – Christine Reid
Organized Labor Representative – Bob Guenther

Educational Partners

Bellingham Technical College Clean Energy – Laura Wurth
Centralia College Trustee – Court Stanley
Washington State University, Energy Program- Jason Selwitz
Washington State University, Tri-Cities- Kate McAteer


Center of Excellence for Clean Energy – Monica Brummer, Director
Center of Excellence for Clean Energy – Emily Girt, Program Coordinator
Centralia College Trustee (retired) – Jim Lowery
Centralia College – Betsy Lazo, Dean; Aman Gill, John Steidel and Rulon Crawford, Faculty
Washington State University Energy Program – Alan Hardcastle and Todd Currier

Advisory Board Minutes

2023 Meeting Minutes

2022 Meeting Minutes